We are open!

×

Leiths is now open and all cookery courses are open for bookings.

Chickpea Flatbreads with Tahini Dip #Veganuary

/ Categories Recipes, Nutrition and Healthy Eating / Author:

Chickpea Flatbreads with Tahini Dip #Veganuary

Photography by Leiths alumnus Jake Fenton

We’re back to creating special moments and meals at home, and these Chickpea Flatbreads with Tahini Dip are the perfect flavoursome appetiser for a cosy evening in, as well as being fully plant-based.

Ingredients

Chickpea Flatbreads
15g fresh yeast
15g sugar
200 – 225ml hand hot water
450g strong bread flour
15g salt
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp cumin seeds, dry roasted and crushed
1 tbsp coriander seeds, dry roasted and crushed
1 tbsp of nigella seeds
1 tbsp olive oil
1 x 400g tin chickpeas, drained and rinsed

Tahini Dip
100g tahini2 tbsp lemon juice (lime juice also works well)Maple Syrup (to taste)¼ tsp garlic powder (optional)SaltWater (to adjust the consistency)
2 tbsp lemon juice (lime juice also works well)
Maple Syrup (to taste)
¼ tsp garlic powder (optional)
Salt Water (to adjust the consistency)

To Garnish
Red chilli, finely diced

Instructions

  1. For the flatbreads; Cream together the yeast with the sugar and 2 tablespoons of the water.
  2. Sift the flour and salt into a large bowl, add the yeast mixture, oil and sufficient water to make a soft but not sloppy dough. Knead for 3 minutes.
  3. Put the chickpeas into a magi mix and blend to a rough paste, stir in the cumin and coriander and nigella seeds.
  4. Mix the chickpeas and spices with the dough and knead for another 2 minutes or until springy and elastic.
  5. Place in a lightly oiled bowl or bag and allow to double in size.
  6. Preheat an oven to 225°C/450°F/gas mark 8. Preheat baking sheets in the oven.
  7. Divide the dough into 8-10 pieces and roll out on a floured surface to rough oval shapes about ½ cm thick.
  8. Cook the bread on the heated baking sheets for about 15 - 25 minutes, depending on thickness.
  9. For the dip; Mix together the tahini, lemon juice, salt and garlic powder. Add enough water to make a loose dipping sauce and adjust the seasoning with Maple syrup as desired. Serve on the side of the flatbreads or drizzled over them.


Check out our newly launched plant-based online course; Plant-Based Eating.

Author: Ben Blackburn

You might also be interested in...

Plant-Based Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

Plant-Based Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

    £3,550 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Tue 5 Oct - Thu 9 Dec 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 5 Oct 2021
      18.00-21.30
    • Thu 7 Oct 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 9 Oct 2021
      09.30-15.30
    • Tue 12 Oct 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 14 Oct 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 19 Oct 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 21 Oct 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 26 Oct 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 28 Oct 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 30 Oct 2021
      09.30-15.30
    • Tue 2 Nov 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 4 Nov 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 9 Nov 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 11 Nov 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 13 Nov 2021
      09.30-15.00
    • Tue 16 Nov 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 18 Nov 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 23 Nov 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 25 Nov 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 30 Nov 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 2 Dec 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 7 Dec 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 9 Dec 2021
      18.30-21.30
    LIMITED AVAILABILITY - BOOK NOW
  • Mon 10 Jan - Wed 16 Mar 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 10 Jan 2022
      18.00-21.30
    • Wed 12 Jan 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 15 Jan 2022
      09.30-15.30
    • Mon 17 Jan 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 19 Jan 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 24 Jan 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 26 Jan 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 31 Jan 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 2 Feb 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 5 Feb 2022
      09.30-15.30
    • Mon 7 Feb 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 9 Feb 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 14 Feb 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 16 Feb 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 19 Feb 2022
      09.30-15.30
    • Mon 21 Feb 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 23 Feb 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 28 Feb 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 2 Mar 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 7 Mar 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 9 Mar 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 14 Mar 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 16 Mar 2022
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...