Chickpea Flatbreads with Tahini Dip #Veganuary

/ Categories Recipes, Nutrition and Healthy Eating / Author:

Chickpea Flatbreads with Tahini Dip #Veganuary

Photography by Leiths alumnus Jake Fenton

We’re back to creating special moments and meals at home, and these Chickpea Flatbreads with Tahini Dip are the perfect flavoursome appetiser for a cosy evening in, as well as being fully plant-based.

Ingredients

Chickpea Flatbreads
15g fresh yeast
15g sugar
200 – 225ml hand hot water
450g strong bread flour
15g salt
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp cumin seeds, dry roasted and crushed
1 tbsp coriander seeds, dry roasted and crushed
1 tbsp of nigella seeds
1 tbsp olive oil
1 x 400g tin chickpeas, drained and rinsed

Tahini Dip
100g tahini2 tbsp lemon juice (lime juice also works well)Maple Syrup (to taste)¼ tsp garlic powder (optional)SaltWater (to adjust the consistency)
2 tbsp lemon juice (lime juice also works well)
Maple Syrup (to taste)
¼ tsp garlic powder (optional)
Salt Water (to adjust the consistency)

To Garnish
Red chilli, finely diced

Instructions

  1. For the flatbreads; Cream together the yeast with the sugar and 2 tablespoons of the water.
  2. Sift the flour and salt into a large bowl, add the yeast mixture, oil and sufficient water to make a soft but not sloppy dough. Knead for 3 minutes.
  3. Put the chickpeas into a magi mix and blend to a rough paste, stir in the cumin and coriander and nigella seeds.
  4. Mix the chickpeas and spices with the dough and knead for another 2 minutes or until springy and elastic.
  5. Place in a lightly oiled bowl or bag and allow to double in size.
  6. Preheat an oven to 225°C/450°F/gas mark 8. Preheat baking sheets in the oven.
  7. Divide the dough into 8-10 pieces and roll out on a floured surface to rough oval shapes about ½ cm thick.
  8. Cook the bread on the heated baking sheets for about 15 - 25 minutes, depending on thickness.
  9. For the dip; Mix together the tahini, lemon juice, salt and garlic powder. Add enough water to make a loose dipping sauce and adjust the seasoning with Maple syrup as desired. Serve on the side of the flatbreads or drizzled over them.


Check out our newly launched plant-based online course; Plant-Based Eating.

Author: Ben Blackburn

You might also be interested in...

Plant Based Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

Plant Based Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

    £3,550 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Tue 27 Apr - Thu 1 Jul 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 27 Apr 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 29 Apr 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 1 May 2021
      09.30-15.00
    • Tue 4 May 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 6 May 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 11 May 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 13 May 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 18 May 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 20 May 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 22 May 2021
      09.30-15.00
    • Tue 25 May 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 27 May 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 1 Jun 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 3 Jun 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 5 Jun 2021
      09.30-15.00
    • Tue 8 Jun 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 10 Jun 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 15 Jun 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 17 Jun 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 22 Jun 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 24 Jun 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 29 Jun 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 1 Jul 2021
      18.30-21.30
    LIMITED AVAILABILITY - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...