Edd Kimber's Chocolate & Cardamom Carrot Cake with Brown Butter Cream Cheese Frosting

/ Categories Recipes, Guest Chefs & Friends of Leiths / Author:

Edd Kimber's Chocolate & Cardamom Carrot Cake with Brown Butter Cream Cheese Frosting

Photography by Edd Kimber

Here to spice up your Thursday with this Chocolate and Cardamom Carrot Cake with Brown Butter Cream from Edd Kimber's new book One Tin Bakes.

For the last 10 years my brother-in-law has badgered me to put a chocolate orange carrot cake into one of my books. I have, for those same 10 years, joked that I think it sounds awful. The truth is it was more fun to wind him up than admit it would work, so it’s time to end the joke and give him a recipe for it. My interpretation has vaguely Scandi spicing and the best brown butter cream cheese frosting you’ve ever had, tasting like a toasty rich caramel.

Ingredients

Serves 12-14

Chocolate & Cardamom Carrot Cake
300g (10.oz/2⅓ cups + 1 tablespoon)plain (all-purpose) flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon fine sea salt
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground cardamom
Zest of 2 oranges, juice of 1
300g (10 ½ oz) carrots, grated
75g (2 ¾ oz/ ½ cup) dark chocolate chips
150g (5 ½ oz/1 cup) raisins or sultanas
4 large eggs
400g (14oz/2 cups) light brown sugar
240ml (8 ½ fl oz/1 cup) light olive oil, plus extra for greasing
1 batch cream cheese frosting (see below)
Milk chocolate shavings
Finely grated zest of 1 orange

Brown Butter Cream Cheese Frosting
75g (2 ¾ oz/⅔ stick) unsalted butter,at room temperature
125g (4 ½ oz/ ½ cup + 1 tablespoon) full-fatcream cheese, at room temperature
400g (14oz/3⅓ cups) icing sugar
¼ teaspoon fine sea salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
60g (2 ¼ oz/⅔ cup) desiccated coconut, to decorate

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F), Gas Mark 4. Lightly grease the baking tin, then line with a piece of parchment paper that overhangs the two long sides.
  2. Place the flour, baking powder, salt, ground spices and orange zest into a large bowl and whisk together to combine. Add the carrots, chocolate chips and raisins. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, sugar, olive oil and juice from 1 orange, mixing until combined. Pour the wet mixture in the bowl with the flour and stir together until everything is combined. Pour the cake batter into the prepared tin and spread into an even layer.
  3. Bake for 35–40 minutes, or until the cake springs back to a light touch or a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean.
  4. Leave to cool in the tin for 20 minutes, then use the lining paper to carefully lift and transfer the cake to a wire rack to cool completely.
  5. Make the cream cheese frosting according to the instructions on page 22, but first brown the butter. Place the butter into a small saucepan over a medium heat, stirring frequently. As the butter cooks it will first melt and then sizzle, splatter and then start to foam with little brown flecks. Pour into a bowl and refrigerate, stirring occasionally, until the butter is firm. Remove from the refrigerator and beat with an electric mixer, on its own, until soft and creamy. Proceed with the cream cheese frosting method as written on page 22. Spread over the top of the cake and finish with a grating of milk chocolate and the zest of another orange, if you like.
  6. Kept covered, this cake will keep for 3–4 days.
  7. For the frosting, it’s very important that the butter and cream cheese are both at room temperature, otherwise it can be tricky to get the right texture. Place the butter and cream cheese into a large bowl and use an electric mixer to beat on medium-high speed for 2–3 minutes, or until smooth, creamy and fully combined. Add the icing sugar, salt and vanilla and mix on slow speed until the sugar has combined with the butter mixture, then mix on medium-high speed for 4–5 minutes, or until light and fluffy.
  8. Spread the frosting all over the cooled cake, then sprinkle the desiccated coconut on top and serve.


Extract taken from One Tin Bakes by Edd Kimber.

Are you a baking enthusiast? Explore our wide variety of baking and patisserie classes here and take your skills to the next level.

Edd Kimber

Author: Edd Kimber

You might also be interested in...

Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

    £3330 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Sat 3 Oct - Wed 9 Dec 2020 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 3 Oct 2020
      09.30-15.00
    • Mon 5 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 7 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 12 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 14 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 19 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 21 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 24 Oct 2020
      09.30-15.00
    • Mon 26 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 28 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 2 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 4 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 9 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 11 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 16 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 18 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 23 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 25 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 28 Nov 2020
      09.30-15.00
    • Mon 30 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 2 Dec 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 7 Dec 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 9 Dec 2020
      18.30-21.30
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
  • Sat 9 Jan - Wed 17 Mar 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 9 Jan 2021
      09.30-15.00
    • Mon 11 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 13 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 18 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 20 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 25 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 27 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 30 Jan 2021
      09.30-15.00
    • Mon 1 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 3 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 8 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 10 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 15 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 17 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 22 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 24 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 1 Mar 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 3 Mar 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 6 Mar 2021
      09.30-15.00
    • Mon 8 Mar 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 10 Mar 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 15 Mar 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 17 Mar 2021
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course - Part 2

Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course - Part 2

    3440.00 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Mon 5 Oct - Wed 9 Dec 2020 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 5 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 7 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 12 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 14 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 17 Oct 2020
      09.30-15.00
    • Mon 19 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 21 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 26 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 28 Oct 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 2 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 4 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 7 Nov 2020
      09.30-15.00
    • Mon 9 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 11 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 16 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 18 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 21 Nov 2020
      09.30-15.00
    • Mon 23 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 25 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 30 Nov 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 2 Dec 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 7 Dec 2020
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 9 Dec 2020
      18.30-21.30
    LIMITED AVAILABILITY - BOOK NOW
  • Tue 12 Jan - Thu 18 Mar 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 12 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 14 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 19 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 21 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 23 Jan 2021
      09.30-15.00
    • Tue 26 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 28 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 2 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 4 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 9 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 11 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 13 Feb 2021
      09.30-15.00
    • Tue 16 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 18 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 23 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 25 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 27 Feb 2021
      09.30-15.00
    • Tue 2 Mar 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 4 Mar 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 9 Mar 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 11 Mar 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 16 Mar 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 18 Mar 2021
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...