Elderflower sabayon with strawberries

/ Categories / Author:

Elderflower sabayon with strawberries

Ingredients

Serves 4-6

For the sabayon
6 egg yolks
20ml of elderflower cordial
4 tablespoons champagne (water can replace the champagne if preferred)
30g of caster sugar

To garnish
450g strawberries – hulled and quartered
2-3 sprigs of mint or micro mint

Instructions

Make the sabayon

  1. Combine the egg yolks, cordial, champagne and sugar in a stainless steel bowl. Using a balloon whisk, whisk the mixture for 1 minute before placing over a pan of gently simmering water, ensuring the base of the bowl is not in contact with the water.
  2. Whisk the eggs until they are light and fluffy, have expanded about 5 times their volume and leave a light ribbon on the surface, this will take approximately 10 minutes.
  3. NB: Remove the bowl from the heat if the egg mixture starts to set on the sides, this will help ensure the mixture does not get too hot and scramble. Return to the heat to continue cooking once the bowl has cooled down a little if required.
  4. Once the sabayon has reached a good volume remove from the heat, continue to whisk briefly allowing it to cool a little then use immediately.

To assemble

  1. On small plates, arrange the sliced strawberries in the centre.
  2. Place a few spoonfuls of sabayon amongst the strawberries.
  3. If you have a blow torch lightly scorch the top of the sabayon.
  4. Garnish with a few sprigs of mint or micro mint.
  5. Serve immediately.


More recipes for the Wimbledon final

Eton mess in a glass
Strawberry meringue domes

You might also be interested in...

Chef Skills Certificate in Patisserie: Daytime Course

Chef Skills Certificate in Patisserie: Daytime Course

    £3,680 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Thu 29 Sep - Fri 2 Dec 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Thu 29 Sep 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Fri 30 Sep 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 6 Oct 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Fri 7 Oct 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 13 Oct 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Fri 14 Oct 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 20 Oct 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Fri 21 Oct 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 27 Oct 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Fri 28 Oct 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 3 Nov 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Fri 4 Nov 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 10 Nov 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Fri 11 Nov 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 17 Nov 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Fri 18 Nov 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 24 Nov 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Fri 25 Nov 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 1 Dec 2022
      09.30-16.00
    • Fri 2 Dec 2022
      09.30-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

    £3,550 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Thu 21 Apr - Fri 1 Jul 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Thu 21 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 22 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 28 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 29 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 5 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 6 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 12 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 13 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 19 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 20 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 26 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 27 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 9 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 10 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 16 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 17 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 23 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 24 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 30 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 1 Jul 2022
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Mon 26 Sep - Wed 30 Nov 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 26 Sep 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 28 Sep 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 3 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 5 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 10 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 12 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 17 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 19 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 24 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 26 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 31 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 2 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 7 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 9 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 14 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 16 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 21 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 23 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 28 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 30 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...