Ella Canta - Restaurant Review by Very Kerri

/ Categories Student stories, Restaurant reviews / Author:

Ella Canta - Restaurant Review by Very Kerri

Diploma student and food blogger Kerri McGuinness takes inspiration from her honeymoon destination in this week's visit to Ella Canta, Park Lane's answer to the traditional Mexican Taqueria, where she immerses herself in the country's rich food culture and marvels at the mezcal!

Have I mentioned that I'm a bit of a Mexico fan? It had me at tacos and tequila, but throw in the country's infectious thirst for life and I'm a goner. Unsurprisingly, choosing where to honeymoon was one of the easiest decisions of 'wedmin' and I'm on my way there as you read this to savour the fruits (or agave spirits) of our labour. As I write on the flight to Mexico City, I’m taking inspiration for this post from my awaiting destination; namely its Day of the Dead traditions. 

Meanwhile, back in London, there's a pretty hot taqueria buzz in the capital, of which I feel Corazón is still at the helm. [Side note: for crying out loud, GO if you've not yet been!] The latest opening on the scene, Ella Canta, promises us something a bit more polished, which I'm not suggesting is always a good thing. Yes, it's basically in a hotel lobby and yes, it's on stuffy Park Lane, but we're still hungry to give it an ‘aul whirl.  

“You can serve me all the posh Mexican fare you like, however few things beat deep fried tacos...”

Girl boss and chef patron Marta Ortiz knows her way around a media interview, writes cookbooks like they’re going out of fashion and magics up dishes (enter, Pink mole) from her Mexico City restaurant Dulce Patria; ranked no.48 in the world. To tie in with Dia de los Muertos, Ortiz has created a tasting menu to honour those who are no longer with us. Black is weaved into dishes as a means of celebration, rather than harking back to darker times.

Food highlights include Seabass crudo with black aguachile, and the right-side-of-charred quail dish. Comforting tamales, creamy corn-stuffed pillows, are like a warm hug on a frosty morning. Turmeric sorbet is easily forgettable, but the corn ash pudding can come around for supper any day of the week. You can serve me all the posh Mexican fare you like, however few things beat deep fried tacos, which come as snacks at the beginning. Hurrah for more cheesy pockets of gooey gorgeousness in life!

The cocktails are on point, as are the glassware and gizmos on the side. Lady in Black, a properly punchy and very drinkable margarita, scoops first place for me. There's also a superb range of mezcals to discover. Order a tasting flight and it pretty much comes with a Ferris wheel and mariachi band to boot. YASSS, now this is what I'm talking about.

Before tonight, black conjured up thoughts of cycling home on cold winter’s nights, sinfully soulless restaurants and generally dark times. But, when I chat with Ortiz, she lights up when telling me about her family's Dia de Los Muertos traditions. So, even on the darkest day, you know there really is light at the end of the tunnel.

In summary, Ella Canta is a place where the portions are small but flavours are big and spicing is bold. I won't do the tasting menu again, but I will go back for all my favourite bits washed down with all the mezcal.  

Five Very Kerri things about Ella Canta

1. Bringing new Mexican vibes to London

2. A non-hotel-like restaurant in a hotel

3. Powerhouse girl boss vibes from Marta Ortiz

4. Cheesy pillows of loveliness

5. Mezcal tasting flights

By Kerri McGuinness

Visit Verykerri.com | Twitter @Kerrimcguinness Instagram @Kerrimcguinness

Learn more about Ella Canta here: www.ellacanta.com

If you too are fascinated by the vibrant and exciting cuisine of Mexico, join us and get hands on experience in creating fresh Mexican meals with food expert Jennifer Joyce

Or, if you'd like to make food your career as well as your passion, you can join us for the Essential Certificate evening course, where you can master the cookery skills needed for a professional environment whilst maintaining your busy schedule.

Kerri McGuinness

Author: Kerri McGuinness

You might also be interested in...

Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

    £3270 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Sat 29 Sep - Wed 5 Dec 2018 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 29 Sep 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Mon 1 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 3 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 8 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 10 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 15 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 17 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 22 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 24 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 27 Oct 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Mon 29 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 31 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 5 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 7 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 12 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 14 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 19 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 21 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 24 Nov 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Mon 26 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 28 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 3 Dec 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 5 Dec 2018
      18.30-21.30
    5 PLACES LEFT - BOOK NOW
  • Sat 5 Jan - Wed 13 Mar 2019 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 5 Jan 2019
      10.00-15.00
    • Mon 7 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 9 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 14 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 16 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 21 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 23 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 26 Jan 2019
      10.00-15.00
    • Mon 28 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 30 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 4 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 6 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 11 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 13 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 18 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 20 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 25 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 27 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 2 Mar 2019
      10.00-15.00
    • Mon 4 Mar 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 6 Mar 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 11 Mar 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 13 Mar 2019
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Sat 6 Apr - Thu 13 Jun 2019 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 6 Apr 2019
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 9 Apr 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 11 Apr 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 16 Apr 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 18 Apr 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 23 Apr 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 25 Apr 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 27 Apr 2019
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 30 Apr 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 2 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 7 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 9 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 14 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 16 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 21 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 23 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 28 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 30 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 1 Jun 2019
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 4 Jun 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 6 Jun 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 11 Jun 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 13 Jun 2019
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW

Sign up to the Leiths newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter for the latest news, offers, recipes and tips from the Leiths experts. Occasionally we send information about specific courses. Help us tailor it to your interests.

I am interested in:

Close

Post me a Leiths brochure

Order our full course brochure in the post. Or download it as a PDF.

I am interested in:

Please complete the device above to help protect us from spam. Then press submit.

Thank you

We have received your request and will send a brochure to the address you have given us.

Loading course information...