We are open!

×

Leiths is now open and all cookery courses are open for bookings.

Eton mess in a glass

/ Category: Recipes / Author:

Eton mess in a glass

Ingredients

Makes 6 glasses (200ml each approx)

Meringues
80g egg whites
160g caster sugar

Strawberry coulis
250g fresh or frozen strawberries – hulled and sliced
1 tbsp caster sugar
2 tsp lemon juice (optional)

Whipped cream
425ml double cream
2-3 tbsp Icing sugar
1-2 tsp vanilla extract (optional)

To garnish
450g fresh strawberries – hulled and cut into quarters
3 sprigs of mint or micro mint (optional)
Edible flowers (cornflowers or purple pansies available from online suppliers or some supermarkets - Sainsbury’s, Waitrose)

Instructions

To make the meringues

  1. Preheat the oven to 100˚C. Cut a piece of baking parchment to fit a large baking sheet.
  2. Place the egg whites into a large clean bowl.
  3. Whisk the egg whites to a stiff peak using an electric whisk.
  4. With the beaters still running, whisk in 4 tbsp of the caster sugar, sprinkling 1 tbsp at a time and ensuring the meringue is whisked back to stiff peak again between each addition. This will take about 6 seconds each time. You should see a shine form in the egg whites almost immediately.
  5. Whisk in the remaining sugar gradually, again bringing the meringue back to stiff peak between additions.
  6. By the time all the sugar is in it should be a dull pearlised mixture that is holding stiff peaks.
  7. Use a small amount of meringue to stick the 4 corners of the parchment to the baking sheet.
  8. Take dessert spoonfuls of the meringue and place at 4-5cm intervals onto the parchment.
  9. Place the meringues into the oven for about 45 minutes until crisp, coming away from the paper, feel light and are completely dry throughout.
  10. Place on a wire rack to cool completely before assembly (these can be made the day before, stored in an airtight container).

To make the coulis

  1. Place the sliced strawberries in a food processor with the caster sugar.
  2. Blend the strawberries until it becomes a smooth purée.
  3. Taste the purée and add more sugar to taste or lemon juice for sharpness if needed.
  4. Sieve the coulis into a jug.
  5. Cover and store in the fridge until required. This can be made up to 1 day ahead.

Whip the cream

  1. Place the cream, sieved icing sugar and vanilla extract if using into a bowl. Using a balloon whisk or electric beaters whip the cream until it just holds its shape. Place the whipped cream into a piping bag.
  2. Ideally whip the cream just as you need it - however, it will hold in the piping bag for a few hours in the fridge if necessary.

To assemble

  1. Pipe a layer of whipped cream in the bottom of each glass.
  2. Crumble meringue on top of the cream.
  3. Place a few pieces of fresh strawberry and a drizzle a little coulis on top of the meringue.
  4. Repeat the layers above.
  5. Finish with desired garnish e.g. mint tips or edible flower petals.
  6. Serve immediately to keep the crunch of the meringue, or store in the fridge and eat as close to assembly as possible.

You might also be interested in...

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

    £3,550 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Mon 23 Aug - Fri 17 Sep 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 23 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 24 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 25 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 26 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 27 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 31 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 1 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 2 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 3 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 6 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 7 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 8 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 9 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 10 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 13 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 14 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 15 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 16 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 17 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Mon 10 Jan - Wed 16 Mar 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 10 Jan 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 12 Jan 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 17 Jan 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 19 Jan 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 24 Jan 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 26 Jan 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 31 Jan 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 2 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 7 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 9 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 14 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 16 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 21 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 23 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 28 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 2 Mar 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 7 Mar 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 9 Mar 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 14 Mar 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 16 Mar 2022
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Tue 19 Apr - Thu 23 Jun 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 19 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 21 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 26 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 28 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 3 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 5 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 10 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 12 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 17 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 19 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 24 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 26 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 31 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 1 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 7 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 9 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 14 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 16 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 21 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 23 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
Chef Skills: Daytime Course

Chef Skills: Daytime Course

    £3,680 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Mon 23 Aug - Fri 17 Sep 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 23 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Tue 24 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Wed 25 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Thu 26 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Fri 27 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Tue 31 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Wed 1 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Thu 2 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Fri 3 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Mon 6 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Tue 7 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Wed 8 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Thu 9 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Fri 10 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Mon 13 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Tue 14 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Wed 15 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Thu 16 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.30
    • Fri 17 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.30
    LIMITED AVAILABILITY - BOOK NOW
Chef Skills Certificate in Patisserie: Daytime Course

Chef Skills Certificate in Patisserie: Daytime Course

    £3680 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Wed 29 Sep - Thu 2 Dec 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Wed 29 Sep 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 30 Sep 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Wed 6 Oct 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 7 Oct 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Wed 13 Oct 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 14 Oct 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Wed 20 Oct 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 21 Oct 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Wed 27 Oct 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 28 Oct 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Wed 3 Nov 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 4 Nov 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Wed 10 Nov 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 11 Nov 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Wed 17 Nov 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 18 Nov 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Wed 24 Nov 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 25 Nov 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Wed 1 Dec 2021
      09.30-16.00
    • Thu 2 Dec 2021
      09.30-16.00
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
Close

Loading course information...