Gut-loving Probiotic Chia Pudding

/ Categories Alumni, Nutrition and Healthy Eating / Author:

Gut-loving Probiotic Chia Pudding

Looking for a healthy super speedy cereal alternative?

This sweet, creamy and delicious breakfast takes a mere 5 minutes to prep and is so easy that even my 5 year old can make it all by himself. It is just about as nutritious a breakfast as you can get and can be made the day before, so in the usually crazy manic mornings, it is as quick and easy as simply spooning it into a bowl. One portion provides 302 calories, 13g of protein (the same as 2 eggs) and a massive 15g of fibre, which is over 50% of the daily recommended amount! Not to mention it provides 135% of my calcium and 15% of my daily iron.

I have used Kefir in this recipe which is a pourable cultured yogurt drink that contains gut-friendly bacteria and is a great addition to your diet. There are dairy-free kefir options available too if you have an intolerance. The mighty little chia seed has a range of nutritional benefits like being a great source of plant-based Omega 3s, soluble fibre and protein.

Ingredients

Serves 4

Probiotic Chia Pudding
500ml Kefir (I use Biotiful which is organic and unsweetened)
5 tbsp chia seeds
1-2 tbsp maple syrup (to taste)

Berry Chia Jam
300g frozen berries
3 tbsp chia seeds
1-2 tsp sugar of your choice depending on how sweet/tart the berries are
A squeeze of lemon

Instructions

  1. For the chia pudding, simply add all of the ingredients together and leave to thicken for 5-10 mins while you prep the berry jam (I usually make the night before).
  2. Serve with the berry chia jam and a sprinkle of granola on top.
  3. For the chia jam, put the frozen berries into a medium saucepan with a splash of water at the bottom.
  4. Gently heat over a low-medium heat until soft.
  5. Remove from the heat and mash.
  6. Sprinkle in the chia seeds, sugar and a squeeze of lemon.
  7. Mix well and leave for 5 mins to thicken.

Author: Emily Wright

You might also be interested in...

Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation (Evening Course)

Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation (Evening Course)

    £3145 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Sat 9 Jan - Sat 13 Mar 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 9 Jan 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 12 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 14 Jan 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Tue 19 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 21 Jan 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Tue 26 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 28 Jan 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Tue 2 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 4 Feb 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Tue 9 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 11 Feb 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Tue 16 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 18 Feb 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Tue 23 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 25 Feb 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Tue 2 Mar 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 4 Mar 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Sat 13 Mar 2021
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation (Daytime Course)

Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation (Daytime Course)

    £3145 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Wed 13 Jan - Wed 24 Mar 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Wed 13 Jan 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 20 Jan 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 27 Jan 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 3 Feb 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 10 Feb 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 24 Feb 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 3 Mar 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 10 Mar 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 17 Mar 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 24 Mar 2021
      10.00-16.00
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
  • Wed 21 Apr - Wed 30 Jun 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Wed 21 Apr 2021
      09.00-16.00
    • Wed 28 Apr 2021
      09.00-16.00
    • Wed 5 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 12 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 19 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 26 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 9 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 16 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 23 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 30 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Mon 2 Aug - Wed 25 Aug 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 2 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 4 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 6 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 9 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 11 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 16 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 18 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 20 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 23 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 25 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Tue 28 Sep - Tue 7 Dec 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 28 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 5 Oct 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 12 Oct 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 19 Oct 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 2 Nov 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 9 Nov 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 16 Nov 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 23 Nov 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 30 Nov 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 7 Dec 2021
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...