Jenny Chandler's Coconut Black Rice Pudding #LeithsTakeovers

/ Categories Recipes, Nutrition and Healthy Eating, Guest Chefs & Friends of Leiths, #LeithsTakeovers / Author:

Jenny Chandler's Coconut Black Rice Pudding #LeithsTakeovers

Image by Jenny Chandler.

Jenny Chandler shares her recipe for a creative, plant based dessert; Coconut Black Rice Pudding. Follow #LeithsTakeovers on our Instagram for more weekly content from our connect Leiths community.

Ingredients

Serves 6

Coconut Black Rice Pudding
200g black rice
1 cinnamon stick
3 Star Anise
1/2 a vanilla pod or a small piece of pandanus leaf
3-4 tbsp palm sugar or muscovado sugar
1 x 400g can of coconut milk
3 tbsp desiccated coconut
Zest and juice of 1 lime
1 lime cut into segments
100ml coconut yoghurt (optional)/ mango purée

Instructions

  1. Rinse and then cook the rice in about 600 ml of water with the cinnamon, star anise and vanilla/pandanus.
  2. Once the rice has cooked, and it will retain a bit of a chewy texture, drain it and return the rice to the pan with the coconut milk and the sugar to taste. Cover and simmer until the coconut milk has been absorbed.
  3. Meanwhile toast the desiccated coconut in a dry pan until golden and smelling divine.
  4. Stir the lime juice into the rice and add more sugar if you feel it needs more sweetness. Remove the cinnamon, vanilla and as much star anise as you can find.
  5. Let the rice cool a little before pouring into a greased timbale mould and turning out to serve warm with a sprinkle of desiccated coconut, lime zest and a lime segment.
  6. You could add a dollop of coconut yoghurt or mango purée but it’s already delicious as is.
Jenny Chandler

Author: Jenny Chandler

You might also be interested in...

Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation

Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation

    £3145 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Tue 29 Sep - Tue 8 Dec 2020 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 29 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 6 Oct 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 13 Oct 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 20 Oct 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 3 Nov 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 10 Nov 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 17 Nov 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 24 Nov 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 1 Dec 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 8 Dec 2020
      10.00-16.00
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
  • Wed 13 Jan - Wed 24 Mar 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Wed 13 Jan 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 20 Jan 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 27 Jan 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 3 Feb 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 10 Feb 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 24 Feb 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 3 Mar 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 10 Mar 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 17 Mar 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 24 Mar 2021
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...