Lamb Hot Pot

/ Categories Recipes, #LeithsDiplomaLife / Author:

Lamb Hot Pot

Photography by diploma student, Bex Staunton

From our students' homes to yours. Our #leithsdiplomalife Home Edition recipe series is a celebration of simplicity, inspired by family style cooking.

When your family is from a melting pot of Yorkshire and the Midlands, the family recipes aren’t as vibrant and exotic as some. But this winter warmer hits the spot when the weather outside is that kind of wet-faced drizzle and the news has just hit about staying indoors again for the worst months of the year.

This recipe, passed down on my mother’s side of the family for several generations, has only been tweaked slightly each time, so this is my version with some added accompaniments and minor culinary school refinement.

Ingredients

Serves 4

For the hotpot
4 medium Maris Piper potatoes
4 carrots
1 large onion
4 cloves garlic
2 tbsp oil
3 large or 4 small lamb leg steaks (approx. 600g)
500ml beef stock (or lamb if you have it)
Splash red wine vinegar (if needed to deglaze)
1 sprig of rosemary
1 bay leaf
5g butter and 5g flour for beurre manie (knead the flour and butter together with your fingers in a small bowl until a thick paste forms)
Salt and black pepper

For the pickled onion
1 large red onion
150ml cider vinegar
100ml water
1 ½ tbsp sugar
½ tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp coriander seeds
½ tsp black peppercorns
2 cloves
1 small dried chilli

For the mint sauce
1 bunch of mint
½ tbsp sugar
4 tbsp boiling water
5 tbsp cider vinegar

Instructions

Lamb Hotpot

  1. Prepare the vegetables: Peel the potatoes and slice or mandolin into 5mm thick rounds. Set aside in a bowl of water. Peel and cut the carrots into 2cm thick rounds. Thinly slice the onion and crush the cloves of garlic.
  2. Prepare the meat: Remove any sinew and dice the lamb into 2cm cubes. Season with salt and pepper and brown the meat in a casserole pot with 1tbsp oil. This can be done in batches, deglazing the pan with red wine vinegar in between, reserving the liquor for later.
  3. Preheat your oven to 200°C.
  4. Set the browned meat aside and sweat the onions in the same casserole pot with 1 tbsp oil and the lid on, until soft. Then add the garlic and fry for 1 minute. Add the carrots, ¾ the beef stock, the reserved pan liquor and then the beurre manie to thicken. Add the browned meat and herbs to the pot and pour over the last of the beef stock to ensure all is covered.
  5. Layer the potatoes over the top and season with salt and pepper. Add the cartouche and lid and cook in the oven at 200°C for 30 minutes, before turning down to 150°C for the following 60 minutes. NB: it will need a further 30 minutes in step 9 below.
  6. Make the pickled onion: Combine the pickle ingredients in a saucepan and bring to the boil before allowing to cool.
  7. Make the mint sauce: Cross chop the mint finely and combine in a bowl with the other sauce ingredients. Set aside until plating.
  8. After the hotpot has cooked at 150°C for 60 minutes, remove the lid of the pot and the cartouche, increase the oven temperature to 200°C and cook for a final 30 minutes. This is to crisp up the top of the potatoes.
  9. Serve the hotpot with pickled onions and mint sauce on top.

You might also be interested in...

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

    £3,550 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Tue 20 Apr - Thu 24 Jun 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 20 Apr 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 22 Apr 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 27 Apr 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 29 Apr 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 4 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 6 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 11 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 13 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 18 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 20 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 25 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 27 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 1 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 3 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 8 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 10 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 15 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 17 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 22 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 24 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
  • Mon 23 Aug - Fri 17 Sep 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 23 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 24 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 25 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 26 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 27 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 31 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 1 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 2 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 3 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 6 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 7 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 8 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 9 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 10 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 13 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 14 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 15 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 16 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 17 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...