We are open!

×

Leiths is now open and all cookery courses are open for bookings.

Lamb Hot Pot

/ Categories Recipes, #LeithsDiplomaLife / Author:

Lamb Hot Pot

Photography by diploma student, Bex Staunton

From our students' homes to yours. Our #leithsdiplomalife Home Edition recipe series is a celebration of simplicity, inspired by family style cooking.

When your family is from a melting pot of Yorkshire and the Midlands, the family recipes aren’t as vibrant and exotic as some. But this winter warmer hits the spot when the weather outside is that kind of wet-faced drizzle and the news has just hit about staying indoors again for the worst months of the year.

This recipe, passed down on my mother’s side of the family for several generations, has only been tweaked slightly each time, so this is my version with some added accompaniments and minor culinary school refinement.

Ingredients

Serves 4

For the hotpot
4 medium Maris Piper potatoes
4 carrots
1 large onion
4 cloves garlic
2 tbsp oil
3 large or 4 small lamb leg steaks (approx. 600g)
500ml beef stock (or lamb if you have it)
Splash red wine vinegar (if needed to deglaze)
1 sprig of rosemary
1 bay leaf
5g butter and 5g flour for beurre manie (knead the flour and butter together with your fingers in a small bowl until a thick paste forms)
Salt and black pepper

For the pickled onion
1 large red onion
150ml cider vinegar
100ml water
1 ½ tbsp sugar
½ tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp coriander seeds
½ tsp black peppercorns
2 cloves
1 small dried chilli

For the mint sauce
1 bunch of mint
½ tbsp sugar
4 tbsp boiling water
5 tbsp cider vinegar

Instructions

Lamb Hotpot

  1. Prepare the vegetables: Peel the potatoes and slice or mandolin into 5mm thick rounds. Set aside in a bowl of water. Peel and cut the carrots into 2cm thick rounds. Thinly slice the onion and crush the cloves of garlic.
  2. Prepare the meat: Remove any sinew and dice the lamb into 2cm cubes. Season with salt and pepper and brown the meat in a casserole pot with 1tbsp oil. This can be done in batches, deglazing the pan with red wine vinegar in between, reserving the liquor for later.
  3. Preheat your oven to 200°C.
  4. Set the browned meat aside and sweat the onions in the same casserole pot with 1 tbsp oil and the lid on, until soft. Then add the garlic and fry for 1 minute. Add the carrots, ¾ the beef stock, the reserved pan liquor and then the beurre manie to thicken. Add the browned meat and herbs to the pot and pour over the last of the beef stock to ensure all is covered.
  5. Layer the potatoes over the top and season with salt and pepper. Add the cartouche and lid and cook in the oven at 200°C for 30 minutes, before turning down to 150°C for the following 60 minutes. NB: it will need a further 30 minutes in step 9 below.
  6. Make the pickled onion: Combine the pickle ingredients in a saucepan and bring to the boil before allowing to cool.
  7. Make the mint sauce: Cross chop the mint finely and combine in a bowl with the other sauce ingredients. Set aside until plating.
  8. After the hotpot has cooked at 150°C for 60 minutes, remove the lid of the pot and the cartouche, increase the oven temperature to 200°C and cook for a final 30 minutes. This is to crisp up the top of the potatoes.
  9. Serve the hotpot with pickled onions and mint sauce on top.

You might also be interested in...

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

    £3,550 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Mon 10 Jan - Wed 16 Mar 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 10 Jan 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 12 Jan 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 17 Jan 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 19 Jan 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 24 Jan 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 26 Jan 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 31 Jan 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 2 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 7 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 9 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 14 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 16 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 21 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 23 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 28 Feb 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 2 Mar 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 7 Mar 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 9 Mar 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 14 Mar 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 16 Mar 2022
      10.00-16.00
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
  • Tue 19 Apr - Thu 23 Jun 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 19 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 21 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 26 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 28 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 3 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 5 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 10 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 12 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 17 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 19 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 24 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 26 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 31 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 1 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 7 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 9 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 14 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 16 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 21 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 23 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
  • Thu 21 Apr - Fri 1 Jul 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Thu 21 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 22 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 28 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 29 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 5 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 6 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 12 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 13 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 19 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 20 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 26 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 27 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 9 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 10 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 16 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 17 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 23 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 24 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 30 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 1 Jul 2022
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Mon 26 Sep - Wed 30 Nov 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 26 Sep 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 28 Sep 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 3 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 5 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 10 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 12 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 17 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 19 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 24 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 26 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 31 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 2 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 7 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 9 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 14 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 16 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 21 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 23 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 28 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 30 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...