Leiths

#LeithsLoves - Cinnamon Spiced Plums with Stewed Plum Yoghurt

/ Categories Recipes, #LeithsLoves / Author:

#LeithsLoves - Cinnamon Spiced Plums with Stewed Plum Yoghurt

It's glorious plum season and we couldn't be more pleased. Our Nutrition in Culinary Practice students have been making the most of these succulent purple fruits with this warming, nutritious recipe; cinnamon spiced plums with stewed plum yoghurt. This little bowl of goodness is guaranteed to give you that much needed hug at the end of a chilly autumn day.

Ingredients

Serves 4

Cinnamon Spiced Plums
8 plums, halved and stoned
4 tablespoons red wine
¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
4 cardamom pods
½ teaspoon five spice powder
3 tablespoons water
20g sunflower seeds (To serve)
20g pumpkin seeds (To serve)

Stewed Plum Yoghurt
500g plums, halved and stoned
2-3 tablespoons grape juice
¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
50ml water
50ml Greek Yoghurt
250ml Natural yoghurt

Instructions

For the Spiced Plums

1. Pack the plums, cut-side up, into an ovenproof dish so they fit snugly together. Put the wine into a jug, add the cinnamon, cardamom pods, five spice powder and water and stir together. Pour over the plums and roast in the oven for 20-30 minutes until soft. Remove from the oven and serve immediately if you want them warm, or leave to cool and then chill if the plan is to eat them cold.

2. Divide the spiced plums evenly between four serving bowls and scatter over the sunflower and pumpkin seeds.

For the Plum Yoghurt

1. Place the plums in a small pan with the grape juice, cinnamon and water. Bring to the boil, cover and cook over a low heat for 10-15 minutes until soft. Drain and mash the plums with a fork or potato masher.

2. Mix the Greek yoghurt and natural yoghurt together and stir in the plums.

3. Portion out individually into dishes or cups, or serve any way you like alongside your warm spiced plums.


The stunning dish photographed was created by one of our nutrition students.

You might also be interested in...

Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation

Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation

    £3145 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Mon 13 Jan - Mon 23 Mar 2020 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 13 Jan 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 20 Jan 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 27 Jan 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 3 Feb 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 10 Feb 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 24 Feb 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 2 Mar 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 9 Mar 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 16 Mar 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 23 Mar 2020
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Wed 15 Apr - Wed 24 Jun 2020 Show session dates/times
    • Wed 15 Apr 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 22 Apr 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 29 Apr 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 6 May 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 13 May 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 27 May 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 3 Jun 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 10 Jun 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 17 Jun 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 24 Jun 2020
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW

Sign up to the Leiths newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter for the latest news, offers, recipes and tips from the Leiths experts. Occasionally we send information about specific courses. Help us tailor it to your interests.

I am interested in:

Close

Post me a Leiths brochure

I am interested in:

Please complete the device above to help protect us from spam. Then press submit.

Thank you

We have received your request and will send a brochure to the address you have given us.

Loading course information...