Melanie Johnson's Top Tips for Styling Your Table At Home #LeithsTakeovers

/ Categories Guest Chefs & Friends of Leiths, #LeithsTakeovers / Author:

Melanie Johnson's Top Tips for Styling Your Table At Home #LeithsTakeovers

Food and cooking has become central to many people's lockdown experience. How can we make these ordinary moments at home a little more special? Leiths alumna, Melanie Johnson, shares her top tips for styling your table at home, to transform an everyday moment into a memorable special occassion.


1. I love to buy inexpensive plates and lengths of fabric from ebay and second hand shops to use as props for styling. Often that hideous plate that looks like a 1960’s reject turns out to be the star of the show and everyone asks where you found it.


2. If, like now, you can’t get your hands on new things work with things from around your home. If you don’t have any flowers fill bowls with fruit and popcorn and arrange down your table. Take every pink plate out of your cupboard and use them even if they don’t match. Use an old floral duvet cover as the tablecloth. It's really about thinking outside the box.


3. Always coordinate, even if it's in a way that you make it look uncoordinated. Colours, tones, shapes, flowers, fruit - all of it.


4. Never be afraid of what other people think. If you like it, do it. It’s your personality that will shine through and give your unique sense of style.


5. It's worth going the distance with effort. Make the tea in a teapot over mugs, serve something hot from the oven, all of these things will make your occasion more unique and special and have your family friends remember it.


Afternoon tea has a very feminine feeling to me so I wanted to reflect that in the styling. Sometimes that piece of fabric you didn’t want for your bedroom curtains afterall might just make a great tablecloth. really femininely styled.



To gain insight into Mel's journey with us here at Leiths, read her #MadeAtLeiths story here. If you're looking to follow in Mel'a foosteps and pursue your passion in food, take a look at our professional courses and don't hesitate to get in touch for a friendly chat about your options - we always love to hear from you.

Author: Melanie Johnson

You might also be interested in...

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

    £3330 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Mon 23 Aug - Fri 17 Sep 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 23 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 24 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 25 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 26 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 27 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 31 Aug 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 1 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 2 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 3 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 6 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 7 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 8 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 9 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 10 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 13 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 14 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 15 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 16 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 17 Sep 2021
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...