Overnight Grains Recipe #NUTRITIONATLEITHS

/ Categories Recipes, Nutrition and Healthy Eating, Leiths Online Courses / Author:

Overnight Grains Recipe #NUTRITIONATLEITHS

Overnight Grains from Leiths Nutrition in Culinary Practice online course

This overnight grains recipe will take your breakfast to the next level, and help you start your day by fuelling your body with nutrition.

With the flexibility to be topped with various sources of vitamins and minerals it adds versatility to reinvent your breakfast bowl every morning. Explore alternative grains such as millet, amaranth, buckwheat groats, or flakes of quinoa, barley or rye. For your toppings experiment with fresh mango, dried apricots, pistachio, coconut or yogi berries to add flavour and diversity. A spoonful of coconut yogurt and use of plant based milks such as oat, hemp, rice or almond provide new flavour combinations too.

Ingredients

Serves 2-3

Overnight Grains
Up to 600ml milk of choice (for example almond, hazelnut or rice milk)
100g millet
100g oats
100g amaranth
1 tsp vanilla extract
¼ tsp cinnamon
Pinch of good nutmeg or grating of whole nutmeg

Optional toppings to garnish
Blueberries
Dried fruit
1-2 tbsp nuts or seeds
2 tbsp natural yoghurt or dairy free yoghurt
Fresh mango

Instructions

  1. Soak your chosen grains overnight in water.
  2. Drain the grains and transfer to a pan in the morning, using 200-300ml of your chosen milk, bring to a simmer and cook for about 20 minutes or until the grains are soft. Add the spices and vanilla extract.
  3. You may need to add more milk if necessary to get the desired stirrable consistency.
  4. Serve with fresh or dried fruit and toppings of your choice. (For example: coconut yoghurt, blueberries, dates and sunflower seeds).

Explore all nutrition courses at Leiths here.

Author: Pamela Daniels

You might also be interested in...

Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation (Daytime Course)

Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation (Daytime Course)

    £3145 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Wed 13 Jan - Wed 24 Mar 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Wed 13 Jan 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 20 Jan 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 27 Jan 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 3 Feb 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 10 Feb 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 24 Feb 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 3 Mar 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 10 Mar 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 17 Mar 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 24 Mar 2021
      10.00-16.00
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
  • Wed 21 Apr - Wed 30 Jun 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Wed 21 Apr 2021
      09.00-16.00
    • Wed 28 Apr 2021
      09.00-16.00
    • Wed 5 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 12 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 19 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 26 May 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 9 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 16 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 23 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 30 Jun 2021
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation (Evening Course)

Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation (Evening Course)

    £3145 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Sat 9 Jan - Sat 13 Mar 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 9 Jan 2021
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 12 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 14 Jan 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Tue 19 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 21 Jan 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Tue 26 Jan 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 28 Jan 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Tue 2 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 4 Feb 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Tue 9 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 11 Feb 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Tue 16 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 18 Feb 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Tue 23 Feb 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 25 Feb 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Tue 2 Mar 2021
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 4 Mar 2021
      18.30-20.30
    • Sat 13 Mar 2021
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...