We are open!

×

Leiths is now open and all cookery courses are open for bookings.

Picnic Recipes: Sticky Gingerbread Traybake

/ Category: Recipes / Author:

Picnic Recipes: Sticky Gingerbread Traybake

This deliciously sticky gingerbread is the ultimate crowd pleaser and only tastes better with time, so you can prepare this days in advance and save it for several occasions.

Complete your picnic menu with our Broad Bean, Pea, Feta & Mint Salad and Cheese & Spinach Empanadas.

Ingredients

Makes 20 squares

Sticky Gingerbread Traybake
225g butter, plus extra to grease
225g so dark brown sugar
70g black treacle
165g golden syrup
300ml milk
350g plain flour
Pinch of salt
1-1½ tbsp ground ginger
2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
2 eggs

To serve
Blackberries (optional)
Crème fraîche (optional)

Instructions

Sticky Gingerbread Traybake

  1. Heat the oven to 170°C/gas mark 3.
  2. Put the butter, sugar, treacle and golden syrup in a saucepan and melt over a low to medium heat. Remove from the heat, stir in the milk and leave to cool.
  3. Lightly grease a 30 x 20cm roasting tin with butter and line the base and sides with baking parchment.
  4. Sift the flour, salt, ginger, cinnamon and bicarbonate of soda into a large bowl. Break the eggs into a bowl or jug and beat to combine. Make a well in the centre and add in the eggs. Stir the eggs, but without forcing flour into the eggs (which can cause lumps); it will be drawn in and incorporated as you stir the eggs.
  5. As this mixture becomes thicker, add a little of the cooled butter and sugar mix to loosen it, then continue stirring. Continue like this until all the flour has been incorporated and all the liquid ingredients added. This should take about 5 minutes.
  6. Pour the batter into the prepared tin. Bake in the middle of the oven for about 50 minutes. Don’t be tempted to open the oven door before 40 minutes or the cake may sink. Test by inserting a skewer into the centre; it should come out clean or with only a few moist crumbs clinging to it. If there is uncooked mixture on the skewer, return the cake to the oven to cook for a little longer.
  7. Once cooked, turn the gingerbread onto a wire rack to cool before cutting into squares. It keeps very well in an airtight tin, for up to 3 weeks, and even improves with keeping.
  8. Serve each portion with a dollop of crème fraîche and a few blackberries (optional).

You might also be interested in...

Cooking with Confidence - Part 2

Cooking with Confidence - Part 2

    £595.00

  • Thu 30 Sep - Thu 4 Nov 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Thu 30 Sep 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 7 Oct 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 14 Oct 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 21 Oct 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 28 Oct 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 4 Nov 2021
      18.45-21.15
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
  • Thu 13 Jan - Thu 17 Feb 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Thu 13 Jan 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 20 Jan 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 27 Jan 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 3 Feb 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 10 Feb 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 17 Feb 2022
      18.45-21.15
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Thu 21 Apr - Thu 26 May 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Thu 21 Apr 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 28 Apr 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 5 May 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 12 May 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 19 May 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 26 May 2022
      18.45-21.15
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Cooking with Confidence - Part 3

Cooking with Confidence - Part 3

    £595.00

  • Wed 29 Sep - Wed 3 Nov 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Wed 29 Sep 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Wed 6 Oct 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Wed 13 Oct 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Wed 20 Oct 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Wed 27 Oct 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Wed 3 Nov 2021
      18.45-21.15
    LIMITED AVAILABILITY - BOOK NOW
  • Thu 13 Jan - Thu 17 Feb 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Thu 13 Jan 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 20 Jan 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 27 Jan 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 3 Feb 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 10 Feb 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 17 Feb 2022
      18.45-21.15
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...