Strawberry meringue domes

/ Category: Recipes / Author:

Strawberry meringue domes

You will need a silicone dome mould for each meringue (each 7cm diameter approx.)

Ingredients

Serves 6

Meringues
60g egg white
120g caster sugar

Strawberry powder
Strawberry crisps (we used the brand ‘the Giving tree’)

Whipped cream
250ml double cream
2tbsp icing sugar
Vanilla extract (optional)

To garnish
1 punnet of strawberries, hulled and cut into quarters
Small sprigs of mint

Instructions

To make the meringue domes

  1. Place the silicone mould upside down onto a baking sheet so the domes are facing upwards.
  2. Preheat the oven to 100˚C.
  3. Make sure all of your equipment is spotlessly clean.
  4. Place the egg whites into a large clean bowl.
  5. Whisk the egg whites to a stiff peak using an electric whisk.
  6. With the beaters still running, whisk in 4 tbsp of the caster sugar, sprinkling 1 tbsp at a time and ensuring the meringue is whisked back to stiff peak again between every addition. This will take about 6 seconds each time. You should see a shine form in the egg whites almost immediately.
  7. Whisk in the remaining sugar gradually, again bringing the meringue back to stiff peak between additions.
  8. By the time all the sugar is in it should be a dull pearlised mixture that is holding stiff peaks.
  9. Place a large plain nozzle into a piping bag and fill with the meringue mixture.
  10. Start with the nozzle at the top of the dome and pushing slightly downwards, pipe the mixture. Keep going until the mixture works it way down the sides of the dome and almost the whole dome is covered in meringue.
  11. Place the meringues into the oven for about 45 minutes until crisp on the outside.
  12. Very carefully, remove the meringue domes from the silicone moulds.
  13. Place on a wire rack to cool completely.
  14. If not using straight away, store in an air tight container. The meringues can be made a day in advance.

To make the strawberry powder

  1. Place the strawberry crisps into the small bowl of a Magimix and blend until a smooth powder has formed. Place into a bowl, cover and set aside until ready to use.

To make the whipped cream

  1. Place the cream, icing sugar and vanilla into a bowl. Using either a balloon whisk or electric beaters, whip the cream until very lightly holding its shape.
  2. Place the cream in a piping bag and store in the fridge if not using straight away.

To prepare the strawberries

  1. Hull the strawberries using a small serrated knife. Slice into quarters or smaller pieces if they are very large.
  2. Store covered in the fridge if not using immediately.

To assemble the meringue domes

  1. Divide the quarters of strawberry between the serving bowls – place each pile in the centre of the bowl.
  2. Pipe the whipped cream on top of the strawberries (2-3 tablespoons per serving).
  3. Place a dome on top of each strawberry and cream pile.
  4. Sprinkle the strawberry powder on top of the meringues.
  5. Garnish with the mint tips.

You might also be interested in...

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

    £3,550 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Thu 21 Apr - Fri 1 Jul 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Thu 21 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 22 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 28 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 29 Apr 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 5 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 6 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 12 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 13 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 19 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 20 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 26 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 27 May 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 9 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 10 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 16 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 17 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 23 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 24 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 30 Jun 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 1 Jul 2022
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Mon 26 Sep - Wed 30 Nov 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 26 Sep 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 28 Sep 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 3 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 5 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 10 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 12 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 17 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 19 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 24 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 26 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 31 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 2 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 7 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 9 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 14 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 16 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 21 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 23 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 28 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 30 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...