Za'atar crusted prawns with a bulghar wheat and herb salad

/ Category: Recipes / Author:

Za'atar crusted prawns with a bulghar wheat and herb salad

On a health kick? It helps if the food you're eating is utterly delicious, as well as nutritious. Prawns are rich in protein, iron and omega-3; and the succulent burst of texture and flavour combined with the za'atar crust will make this dish a firm favourite for 2017.

Ingredients


20 raw prawns
2 - 3 tbsp olive oil
3 - 4 tbsp za'atar
1/2 tbsp plain flour
Salt
Freshly ground black pepper

For the salad
100g bulghar wheat
1 red onion
1 tbsp olive oil
1 pomegranate
1/2 cucumber
1/2 bunch dill
1 bunch flat-leaf parsley
1/4 bunch mint

For the dressing
1 lemon
1 orange
5 tbsp olive oil
Pinch ground sumac
1/2 - 1 tsp clear honey

To serve
1 lemon

Instructions

  1. Peel and clean the prawns, leaving the tail tip intact, then set aside in the fridge.
  2. For the salad, prepare the bulghar wheat by putting it in a small saucepan. Add enough water to come 3 cm above the level of the wheat. Simmer, uncovered, over a low to medium heat until just tender, about 10 minutes. When tender, drain well and scatter over a tray lined with kitchen paper, then cover with kitchen paper to absorb the moisture.
  3. Meanwhile, halve, peel and finely slice the onion. Heat the olive oil in a frying pan over a low heat and add the onion. Cook gently until the onion is just starting to soften, then increase the heat and allow it to brown a little. Remove from the heat, drain the onion of excess oil and transfer to a large bowl. Heat the oven to 120°C.
  4. Halve the pomegranate and extract the seeds. Cut the cucumber in half lengthways, de-seed by scraping the length with a teaspoon, then finely dice. Pick the herbs into bite-sized sprigs or very coarsely chop. Add all these ingredients to the onion.
  5. Once the bulghar wheat is dry, add it to the bowl. Cut the lemon into wedges and reserve for serving.
  6. For the dressing, juice the lemon and orange. Mix 1 tablespoon of each with the olive oil, sumac, honey and salt and pepper to taste. Whisk to combine, then set aside.
  7. Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in the frying pan over a medium heat. Mix the za’atar and flour with some salt and pepper in a large bowl. Dry the prawns and add them to the bowl. Toss in the za’atar mix to coat.
  8. Fry the prawns in batches until pink and the tails have curled, 3 - 4 minutes. Keep the cooked prawns warm in the low oven while you fry the rest, adding 1 tablespoon oil to the pan for each batch.
  9. Add the dressing to the salad and toss together. Divide the salad between 4 shallow bowls and arrange the prawns on top. Serve with the lemon wedges.

Variations

Replace the bulghar wheat with couscous or mograbiah.

Za’atar crusted prawns with tabbouleh: Substitute tabbouleh for the bulghar wheat, pomegranate and herb salad.

Lily Grouse

Author: Lily Grouse

You might also be interested in...

Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation

Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation

    £2995.00 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Wed 18 Apr - Wed 27 Jun 2018 Show session dates/times
    • Wed 18 Apr 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 25 Apr 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 2 May 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 9 May 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 16 May 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 30 May 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 6 Jun 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 13 Jun 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 20 Jun 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 27 Jun 2018
      10.00-16.00
    2 PLACES LEFT - BOOK NOW
  • Mon 13 Aug - Thu 6 Sep 2018 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 13 Aug 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 15 Aug 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 17 Aug 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 20 Aug 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 22 Aug 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 29 Aug 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 31 Aug 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 3 Sep 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 5 Sep 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 6 Sep 2018
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Mon 24 Sep - Mon 3 Dec 2018 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 24 Sep 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 1 Oct 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 8 Oct 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 15 Oct 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 22 Oct 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 5 Nov 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 12 Nov 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 19 Nov 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 26 Nov 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 3 Dec 2018
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW

Sign up to the Leiths newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter for the latest news, offers, recipes and tips from the Leiths experts. Occasionally we send information about specific courses. Help us tailor it to your interests.

I am interested in:

Post me a Leiths brochure

Order our full course brochure in the post. Or download it as a PDF.

I am interested in:

Loading course information...