Summary Essential Cooking - 1 Week Course

This course gives you the option to take the first week of our Essential Cooking Certificate on its own. It's the perfect way to get a taste for our professional courses whilst picking up some fundamental cookery skills. If you'd prefer, you can also book onto the first two weeks of the course.

Please note, if you avoid pork for religious reasons, we are able to adapt the course to reflect this. Please email bookings@leiths.com to discuss your requirements.

Learn essential knife skills, crack egg cooking and take on the perfect Sunday roast in this fast-paced, one-week course! You'll be taught in our professional kitchens by the same chefs who teach on our professional diploma, so this is ideal for those who would like a glimpse into the life of a culinary student.

Skills covered:

  • Knife skills
  • Egg cooking
  • Basic cakes
  • Sunday roasts
  • Slow cooking & stocks
  • Basic pastry

Sample recipes:

  • Victoria sandwich with lemon curd
  • Roast beef with all of the trimmings
  • Leek and Gruyere tart
  • Chocolate profiteroles
  • Moroccan lamb tagine
  • Lemon tart
  • Smoked salmon with scrambled eggs
  • Pain perdu with grilled apricots

  • Please note that students who choose to partially complete the course in this way will not gain a professional qualification, but it's a great way of boosting your cookery skills in a professional environment. If you're interested in taking the full Essential Cooking Certificate, click here to learn more.

Allergies and dietary restrictions

Please call the school to discuss any relevant allergies with a member of staff. You can read our full policy on allergies and dietary restrictions here.

Using a voucher to pay for this course?

Before purchasing a class or course, you’ll need to validate your voucher by clicking here and entering your unique code. This will add the value of the voucher to your account. Please call us on 0208 749 6400 if you need any help

weekday

Practical info Essential Cooking - 1 Week Course

What is included:

  • 1 x Leiths aprons
  • A Leiths How to Cook book
  • We will lend you a set of knives to use during the course

What you need to bring:

  • Closed toed, flat soled shoes
  • Long, loose trousers and a long-sleeved white shirt
  • A notebook and pencil

Allergies and Intolerances: We are happy to make adjustments where possible. Some classes are however unsuitable for people with particular intolerances – where the menu would need to be completely different. We need 10 days notice to be able to properly check the class, adjust order/write/adjust recipes

* All prices correct at time of publishing. Please note that prices are likely to change at the end of each financial year (April).

Gift?WOULD YOU LIKE TO BOOK THIS COURSE AS A GIFT FOR SOMEONE? AT CHECK-OUT YOU CAN CHOOSE WHO RECEIVES YOUR GIFT.

You might also be interested in...

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

    £3330 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Mon 24 Aug - Fri 18 Sep 2020 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 24 Aug 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 25 Aug 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 26 Aug 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 27 Aug 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 28 Aug 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 31 Aug 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 1 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 2 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 3 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 4 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 7 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 8 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 9 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 10 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 11 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 14 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 15 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 16 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Thu 17 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    • Fri 18 Sep 2020
      10.00-16.00
    LIMITED AVAILABILITY - BOOK NOW
Cooking with Confidence - Part 1

Cooking with Confidence - Part 1

    £545.00

  • Tue 29 Sep - Tue 3 Nov 2020 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 29 Sep 2020
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 6 Oct 2020
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 13 Oct 2020
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 20 Oct 2020
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 27 Oct 2020
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 3 Nov 2020
      18.45-21.15
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
  • Tue 5 Jan - Tue 9 Feb 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 5 Jan 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 12 Jan 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 19 Jan 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 26 Jan 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 2 Feb 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 9 Feb 2021
      18.45-21.15
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...