Summary Food Styling

If you have any questions about the content of this course or food styling itself, please call the school on 020 8749 6400 to make sure that it's suitable for you. This course is for people who have no prior experience of food styling and would like an introduction to the skill. 

This course runs on one weekday evening per week, for 6 weeks, and culminates in a photo shoot on either the Saturday or Sunday of the final week. This means that each student will take part in a total of 7 sessions each (6 weekday evening sessions and 1 weekend day session).  

The food you see on TV, in advertising shots and in magazines has often been carefully styled by specialist food stylists.

If you'd like to find out how it's done, join us on this six week course and learn the tricks of the trade, kit essentials and tips on amateur food photography and prop styling.

A final weekend session (either Saturday or Sunday) will be spent styling your own dishes for food photographer Adrian Lawrence, resulting in a beautiful photo for your portfolio or professional blog. You will have a 25 minute slot with the photographer, but you may arrive ahead of time to prepare your food and are also welcome to watch others style their dishes.

This course is suitable for those with a solid understanding of practical cookery, wishing to pursue or develop their roles as food stylists or home economists. It is also suitable for food industry professionals who are interested in honing their presentation skills in order to develop a portfolio of dishes in their own style. 

This being said, the course can also be enjoyed by enthusiasts who simply want to add another string to their bow and produce beautiful food ready to be photographed for personal websites or blogs.

Your teachers:

You'll be taught by two of the best in the business!

  • Jayne Cross: Jayne has worked as a professional food stylist and writer for almost 20 years, styling food for innumerable magazines, advertisements, TV shows and over 30 books. She's also written and styled two books of her own.
  • Rebecca Woollard: Rebecca is currently a freelance food editor, writer and stylist. She was formerly the food editor of delicious. magazine, and food assistant at both BBC Good Food, woman&home and various spin off titles in her early career after graduating from Leiths. Her clients include Sainsbury’s, Tesco and Co-op magazines (as well as delicious.), Dr Oetker, Quorn and various media agencies.

Photo ownership: Please note that Leiths purchases the final photographs from the photographer and each student will be sent their styled shots which they will be able to use for their personal portfolios or websites. However Leiths owns the photos and reserves the right to occasionally feature them in the school's marketing materials.

Using a voucher to pay for this course?
Before purchasing a class or course, you’ll need to validate your voucher by clicking here and entering your unique code. This will add the value of the voucher to your account. Please call us on 0208 749 6400 if you need any help.

Allergies and dietary restrictions

Please call the school to discuss any relevant allergies with a member of staff. You can read our full policy on allergies and dietary restrictions here.

evening

Practical info Food Styling

What is included:

Ingredients provided for you to style, apart from on the final shoot which will involve you selecting and styling your own recipe
We do the washing up!

What you need to bring:

Flat soled shoes

Allergies and intolerances:

We are happy to make adjustments where possible. This course may be unsuitable for people with severe allergies to the food they may be handling. Please let us know if you have any allergies and we will make adjustments wherever possible. Please give us ten days' notice if this is required.

Copyright:

Image copyright is retained by Leiths, however you are very welcome to use the images of the food you have styled for your own portfolio, website, social media pages and other uses, subject to our terms and conditions.

Allergies and dietary restrictions:

We are happy to make adjustments where possible. Some classes are however unsuitable for people with particular intolerances – where the menu would need to be completely different. We need 10 days' notice to be able to properly check the class and adjust the order accordingly. Please read our full policy on allergies and dietary restrictions here.


* All prices correct at time of publishing. Please note that prices are likely to change at the end of each financial year (April).

Gift?WOULD YOU LIKE TO BOOK THIS COURSE AS A GIFT FOR SOMEONE? AT CHECK-OUT YOU CAN CHOOSE WHO RECEIVES YOUR GIFT.

You might also be interested in...

Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

    £3270 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Sat 5 Jan - Wed 13 Mar 2019 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 5 Jan 2019
      09.30-14.30
    • Mon 7 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 9 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 14 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 16 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 21 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 23 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 26 Jan 2019
      09.30-14.30
    • Mon 28 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 30 Jan 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 4 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 6 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 11 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 13 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 18 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 20 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 25 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 27 Feb 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 2 Mar 2019
      09.30-14.30
    • Mon 4 Mar 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 6 Mar 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 11 Mar 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 13 Mar 2019
      18.30-21.30
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
  • Sat 6 Apr - Thu 13 Jun 2019 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 6 Apr 2019
      09.30-14.30
    • Tue 9 Apr 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 11 Apr 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 16 Apr 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 18 Apr 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 23 Apr 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 25 Apr 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 27 Apr 2019
      09.30-14.30
    • Tue 30 Apr 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 2 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 7 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 9 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 14 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 16 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 21 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 23 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 28 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 30 May 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 1 Jun 2019
      09.30-14.30
    • Tue 4 Jun 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 6 Jun 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 11 Jun 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 13 Jun 2019
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Sat 28 Sep - Wed 4 Dec 2019 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 28 Sep 2019
      09.30-14.30
    • Mon 30 Sep 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 2 Oct 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 7 Oct 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 9 Oct 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 14 Oct 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 16 Oct 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 19 Oct 2019
      09.30-14.30
    • Mon 21 Oct 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 23 Oct 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 28 Oct 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 30 Oct 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 4 Nov 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 6 Nov 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 11 Nov 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 13 Nov 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 18 Nov 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 20 Nov 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 23 Nov 2019
      09.30-14.30
    • Mon 25 Nov 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 27 Nov 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 2 Dec 2019
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 4 Dec 2019
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW

Sign up to the Leiths newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter for the latest news, offers, recipes and tips from the Leiths experts. Occasionally we send information about specific courses. Help us tailor it to your interests.

I am interested in:

Close

Post me a Leiths brochure

Order our full course brochure in the post. Or download it as a PDF.

I am interested in:

Please complete the device above to help protect us from spam. Then press submit.

Thank you

We have received your request and will send a brochure to the address you have given us.

Loading course information...