We are open!

×

Leiths is now open and all cookery courses are open for bookings.

Dampening the cartouche helps to maintain a moist environment, e.g. sweating onions. Dry cartouches are used too, when baking pastry blind.

...Make a cartouche

Step by step

1 To make a cartouche, cut a square or round greaseproof paper and fold into segments, the shape of an elongated triangle. Trim the triangle to a fraction larger than the radius of your pan.

2 Unfold the paper into a circle that should fit snugly inside the saucepan on top of the onions.

3 Crumple the cartouche and dampen under cold water before use. The crumpling helps the greaseproof paper hold a little more water. Lay on top of the ingredient(s) to be cooked.

You might also be interested in how to...

You might also be interested in...

Cooking with Confidence - Part 1

Cooking with Confidence - Part 1

    £595.00

  • Tue 11 Jan - Tue 15 Feb 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 11 Jan 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 18 Jan 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 25 Jan 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 1 Feb 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 8 Feb 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 15 Feb 2022
      18.45-21.15
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Thu 21 Apr - Thu 26 May 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Thu 21 Apr 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 28 Apr 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 5 May 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 12 May 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 19 May 2022
      18.45-21.15
    • Thu 26 May 2022
      18.45-21.15
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...