Dampening the cartouche helps to maintain a moist environment, e.g. sweating onions. Dry cartouches are used too, when baking pastry blind.

...Make a cartouche

Step by step

1 To make a cartouche, cut a square or round greaseproof paper and fold into segments, the shape of an elongated triangle. Trim the triangle to a fraction larger than the radius of your pan.

2 Unfold the paper into a circle that should fit snugly inside the saucepan on top of the onions.

3 Crumple the cartouche and dampen under cold water before use. The crumpling helps the greaseproof paper hold a little more water. Lay on top of the ingredient(s) to be cooked.

You might also be interested in how to...

You might also be interested in...

Cooking with Confidence - Part 1

Cooking with Confidence - Part 1

    £545.00

  • Tue 29 Sep - Tue 3 Nov 2020 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 29 Sep 2020
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 6 Oct 2020
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 13 Oct 2020
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 20 Oct 2020
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 27 Oct 2020
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 3 Nov 2020
      18.45-21.15
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
  • Tue 5 Jan - Tue 9 Feb 2021 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 5 Jan 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 12 Jan 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 19 Jan 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 26 Jan 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 2 Feb 2021
      18.45-21.15
    • Tue 9 Feb 2021
      18.45-21.15
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...