Dampening the cartouche helps to maintain a moist environment, e.g. sweating onions. Dry cartouches are used too, when baking pastry blind.

Make a cartouche

...Make a cartouche

Step by step

1 To make a cartouche, cut a square or round greaseproof paper and fold into segments, the shape of an elongated triangle. Trim the triangle to a fraction larger than the radius of your pan.

2 Unfold the paper into a circle that should fit snugly inside the saucepan on top of the onions.

3 Crumple the cartouche and dampen under cold water before use. The crumpling helps the greaseproof paper hold a little more water. Lay on top of the ingredient(s) to be cooked.

You might also be interested in how to...

You might also be interested in...

Key Cooking Skills - Part 1

Key Cooking Skills - Part 1

    £820.00

  • Mon 2 Jul - Fri 6 Jul 2018 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 2 Jul 2018
      09.45-17.00
    • Tue 3 Jul 2018
      09.45-17.00
    • Wed 4 Jul 2018
      09.45-17.00
    • Thu 5 Jul 2018
      09.45-17.00
    • Fri 6 Jul 2018
      09.45-17.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Mon 10 Dec - Fri 14 Dec 2018 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 10 Dec 2018
      09.45-17.00
    • Tue 11 Dec 2018
      09.45-17.00
    • Wed 12 Dec 2018
      09.45-17.00
    • Thu 13 Dec 2018
      09.45-17.00
    • Fri 14 Dec 2018
      09.45-17.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW

Sign up to the Leiths newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter for the latest news, offers, recipes and tips from the Leiths experts. Occasionally we send information about specific courses. Help us tailor it to your interests.

I am interested in:

Post me a Leiths brochure

Order our full course brochure in the post. Or download it as a PDF.

I am interested in:

Please complete the device above to help protect us from spam. Then press submit.

Thank you

We have received your request and will send a brochure to the address you have given us.

Loading course information...