×

Redeeming vouchers

We are aware that some customers are experiencing difficulties when redeeming their vouchers online and our bookings team are working to resolve this. If you would like to redeem your voucher in the meantime, please call the school on 020 8749 6400 to make your purchase over the phone. We apologise for the inconvenience.

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

    £3175 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Mon 13 Aug - Fri 7 Sep 2018 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 13 Aug 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Tue 14 Aug 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Wed 15 Aug 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Thu 16 Aug 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Fri 17 Aug 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Mon 20 Aug 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Tue 21 Aug 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Wed 22 Aug 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Thu 23 Aug 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Fri 24 Aug 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Tue 28 Aug 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Wed 29 Aug 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Thu 30 Aug 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Fri 31 Aug 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Mon 3 Sep 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Tue 4 Sep 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Wed 5 Sep 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Thu 6 Sep 2018
      09.30-17.00
    • Fri 7 Sep 2018
      09.30-17.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW

This full time course will run every working day, Monday to Friday, from Monday 13th August - Fri 7th September 2018. Each day begins at 9.30am and finishes at 5pm. There will be no class on Monday 27th August 2018, which is a bank holiday. To book your place, please email bookings@leiths.com.

If you'd like to learn the maximum number of cookery skills for a professional environment in the shortest period of time, this hands-on fast paced 4 week course is for you.

Whether you are considering a new career or need to fend for yourself after leaving home, you’ll learn all of the essential skills you need for a lifetime of confident cooking. From comforting classics to cutting edge creations, this is a unique opportunity to master the building blocks of cooking. 

By the end of the course, you will have an impressive repertoire and your new skills will open the door to hundreds of recipes. You will learn to plan your time in the kitchen and develop kitchen management, menu planning, presentation and budgeting skills.

Suitable for:

The Leiths Essential Cooking Certificate is ideal for anyone with professional cooking ambitions who is new to cooking. Students gaining the Leiths Essential go on to

  • cook for private clients
  • plan their own food businesses
  • work in Safari lodges or ski chalets
  • run bed & breakfasts, delis and cakes shops
  • work in other food related industries

Example areas covered:

  • Knife skills and presentation
  • Eggs: setting and thickening
  • Pastry: shortcrust and choux
  • Pan frying: meat and pan sauces
  • Fish
  • Shellfish
  • Stewing
  • Bread
  • Cakes: creamed, melted, rubbed in and whisked
  • Gelatine
  • Puddings
  • Jointing and butchery

A glimpse of life at Leiths...

Download prospectus pdf

Course content Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

Weeks 1 - 3

Learn skills tackled on our professional courses but in a more relaxed format (no exams!). Your time will be split between demonstrations and hands on cooking under the guidance of the Leiths expert teachers. We will also be focusing on cooking seasonally, entertaining on a budget, planning your time in the kitchen and simple but effective presentation.

The final week

Join the professional fast track as you hone your technical abilities, preparing you for a more professional cooking environment. You will learn to plan your time in the kitchen and the importance of mise en place (a chef’s term for preparing ahead of service).

Leiths teachers will assess your progress throughout the 4 weeks of the course and successful students will leave with a fantastic qualification in practical cooking skills, kitchen theory and professional hygiene. To celebrate your achievements, you will put your budgeting, kitchen management, menu planning and presentation skills to the test as you learn to prepare and cook for a crowd. Friends and family are invited to join you for a delicious sharing menu cooked by you and your fellow students.

Typical Day

Uniform and equipment Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

Students on this course will require a set of kitchen equipment and a chef's jacket (approx. £140). Order forms for all required items are sent out with the final invoice eight weeks before the course is due to start.

Practical Information Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

What is included:

  • 2 x Leiths aprons
  • A Leiths How to Cook book

What you need to bring:

  • Flat soled shoes
  • Long trousers and a long sleeved top are advisable
  • A notebook and pencil

Allergies and Intolerances:

We are happy to make adjustments where possible. 

Some classes are however unsuitable for people with particular intolerances – where the menu would need to be completely different.

We need 10 days notice to be able to properly check the class, adjust order/write/adjust recipes

Reputation Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

* All prices correct at time of publishing. Please note that prices are likely to change at the end of each financial year (April).

NEED ADVICE ABOUT A PROFESSIONAL COURSE? CALL +44 (0)20 8749 6400

You might also be interested in...

Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

    £3175 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Sat 6 Jan - Thu 15 Mar 2018 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 6 Jan 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 9 Jan 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 11 Jan 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 16 Jan 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 18 Jan 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 23 Jan 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 25 Jan 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 30 Jan 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 1 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 3 Feb 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 6 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 8 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 13 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 15 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 20 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 22 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 27 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 1 Mar 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 3 Mar 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 6 Mar 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 8 Mar 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 13 Mar 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 15 Mar 2018
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Sat 7 Apr - Thu 14 Jun 2018 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 7 Apr 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 10 Apr 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 12 Apr 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 17 Apr 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 19 Apr 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 24 Apr 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 26 Apr 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 28 Apr 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 1 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 3 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 8 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 10 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 15 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 17 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 22 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 24 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 29 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 31 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 2 Jun 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 5 Jun 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 7 Jun 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 12 Jun 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 14 Jun 2018
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Sat 29 Sep - Wed 5 Dec 2018 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 29 Sep 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Mon 1 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 3 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 8 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 10 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 15 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 17 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 22 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 24 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 27 Oct 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Mon 29 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 31 Oct 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 5 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 7 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 12 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 14 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 19 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 21 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 24 Nov 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Mon 26 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 28 Nov 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 3 Dec 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 5 Dec 2018
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW

Sign up to the Leiths newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter for the latest news, offers, recipes and tips from the Leiths experts. Occasionally we send information about specific courses. Help us tailor it to your interests.

I am interested in:

Post me a Leiths brochure

Order our full course brochure in the post. Or download it as a PDF.

I am interested in:

Loading course information...