Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

    £3175 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Sat 30 Sep - Wed 6 Dec 2017 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 30 Sep 2017
      09.30-14.30
    • Mon 2 Oct 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 4 Oct 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 9 Oct 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 11 Oct 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 16 Oct 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 18 Oct 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 23 Oct 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 25 Oct 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 28 Oct 2017
      09.30-14.30
    • Mon 30 Oct 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 1 Nov 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 6 Nov 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 8 Nov 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 13 Nov 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 15 Nov 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 20 Nov 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 22 Nov 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 25 Nov 2017
      09.30-14.30
    • Mon 27 Nov 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 29 Nov 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 4 Dec 2017
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 6 Dec 2017
      18.30-21.30
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
  • Sat 6 Jan - Thu 15 Mar 2018 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 6 Jan 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 9 Jan 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 11 Jan 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 16 Jan 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 18 Jan 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 23 Jan 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 25 Jan 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 30 Jan 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 1 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 3 Feb 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 6 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 8 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 13 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 15 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 20 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 22 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 27 Feb 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 1 Mar 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 3 Mar 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 6 Mar 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 8 Mar 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 13 Mar 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 15 Mar 2018
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Sat 7 Apr - Thu 14 Jun 2018 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 7 Apr 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 10 Apr 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 12 Apr 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 17 Apr 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 19 Apr 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 24 Apr 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 26 Apr 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 28 Apr 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 1 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 3 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 8 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 10 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 15 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 17 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 22 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 24 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 29 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 31 May 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 2 Jun 2018
      10.00-15.00
    • Tue 5 Jun 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 7 Jun 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 12 Jun 2018
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 14 Jun 2018
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW

Please note: Each course comprises of two evenings per week across 10 weeks, as well as three daytime sessions on selected Saturdays. Please check the dates and times above to make sure you are available for all of the sessions. 

To secure a place on this course we require a deposit of £400 and agreement to the terms and conditions, which you can read here. Before paying, we strongly advise that you book an initial chat, either by telephone or visiting the school, to ensure that the course is suitable for you. To book an informal interview and tour of the school, please call 020 8749 6400 or email info@leiths.com.

Course

We're thrilled to be able to offer our Essential Cooking Certificate in a new part time evening and weekend format. This course runs on two evenings each week from 6.30pm to 9.30pm, for ten weeks. There are also be three full Saturday sessions, which run from 9.30am to 2.30pm.

This course is therefore ideal for aspiring cooks who want to refine their skills alongside their current 9 to 5 schedules.

If you would like to learn a vast number of cookery skills for a professional environment yet don't have the flexibility to commit to full-time study, this hands-on fast paced 10 week evening course is for you.

Whether you are considering a new career or simply wish to broaden your range of recipes, you’ll learn all of the essential skills you need for a lifetime of confident cooking. From comforting classics to cutting edge creations, this is a unique opportunity to master the building blocks of cooking. By the end of the course, you will have an impressive repertoire and your new skills will open the door to hundreds of dishes. You will learn to plan your time in the kitchen and develop kitchen management, menu planning, presentation and budgeting skills.

This is an intensive course for people aspiring to work in the food industry or serious amateur cooks who want to develop their skills to a professional level. Students may find they need to scale down other commitments while they undertake the course as it will require energy and dedication. Past students have found the Essential Certificate to be extremely rewarding and well worth the effort.

It will allow students to really develop their cooking in a relatively short period of time and will prepare those who are successful to enter the food industry. Students will be asked to practise specific skills at home between classes and sometimes to read ahead before tackling a new skill in class.

Please make an appointment to come into the school if you would like to discuss your suitability for the course.

Suitability

The Leiths Essential Cooking Certificate is ideal for anyone with professional cooking ambitions who is new to cooking. Students gaining the Leiths Essential go on to:

  • cook for private clients
  • plan their own food businesses
  • work in safari lodges or ski chalets
  • run bed & breakfasts, delis and cake shops
  • work in other food related industries

Equipment

Students on this course will require a set of kitchen equipment, a chef's jacket (approx. £140). Order forms for all required items are sent out with the final invoice eight weeks before the course is due to start.

A glimpse of life at Leiths...

Download prospectus pdf

Course content Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

Learn skills tackled on our professional courses in a shorter length of time. Your commitment will be split between demonstrations and hands on cooking under the guidance of the Leiths expert teachers. We will also be focusing on cooking seasonally, entertaining on a budget, planning your time in the kitchen and simple but effective presentation.

Join the professional fast track as you hone your technical abilities, preparing you for a more professional cooking environment. You will learn to plan your time in the kitchen and the importance of mise en place (a chef’s term for preparing ahead of service).

Leiths teachers will assess your progress throughout the 10 weeks of the course and successful students will leave with a fantastic qualification in practical cooking skills, kitchen theory and professional hygiene.

Example of the areas covered:

  • Knife skills and presentation
  • Eggs: setting and thickening
  • Pastry: shortcrust and choux
  • Pan frying: meat and pan sauces
  • Fish
  • Shellfish
  • Stewing
  • Bread
  • Cakes: creamed, melted, rubbed in and whisked
  • Gelatine
  • Puddings
  • Jointing and butchery

Uniform and Equipment Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

Students on this course will require a set of kitchen equipment, a chef's jacket (approx. £140). Order forms for all required items are sent out with the final invoice eight weeks before the course is due to start.

Practical Information Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

What is included:

  • 2 x Leiths aprons
  • A Leiths How to Cook book

What you need to bring:

  • Flat soled shoes
  • Long trousers and a long sleeved top are advisable
  • A notebook and pencil

Allergies and Intolerances:

We are happy to make adjustments where possible. 

Some classes are however unsuitable for people with particular intolerances – where the menu would need to be completely different. 

We need 10 days notice to be able to properly check the class, adjust order/write/adjust recipes


Reputation Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

* All prices correct at time of publishing. Please note that prices are likely to change at the end of each financial year (April).

NEED ADVICE ABOUT A PROFESSIONAL COURSE? CALL +44 (0)20 8749 6400

You might also be interested in...

Nutrition in Practice: The Accreditation

Nutrition in Practice: The Accreditation

    £2995.00 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Mon 25 Sep - Mon 4 Dec 2017 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 25 Sep 2017
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 2 Oct 2017
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 9 Oct 2017
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 16 Oct 2017
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 30 Oct 2017
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 6 Nov 2017
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 13 Nov 2017
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 20 Nov 2017
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 27 Nov 2017
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 4 Dec 2017
      10.00-16.00
    CLASS FULL - JOIN WAITING LIST
  • Tue 9 Jan - Tue 20 Mar 2018 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 9 Jan 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 16 Jan 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 23 Jan 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 30 Jan 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 6 Feb 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 20 Feb 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 27 Feb 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 6 Mar 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 13 Mar 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 20 Mar 2018
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Wed 18 Apr - Wed 27 Jun 2018 Show session dates/times
    • Wed 18 Apr 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 25 Apr 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 2 May 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 9 May 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 16 May 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 30 May 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 6 Jun 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 13 Jun 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 20 Jun 2018
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 27 Jun 2018
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW

Sign up to the Leiths newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter for the latest news, offers, recipes and tips from the Leiths experts. Occasionally we send information about specific courses. Help us tailor it to your interests.

I am interested in:

Post me a Leiths brochure

Order our full course brochure in the post. Or download it as a PDF.

I am interested in:

Loading course information...